News:

Due to SPAM attacks, new members must be approved before posting.  Please email jclough@warrenpinnacle.com when registering and your account will be approved.

Main Menu

applicability in central Africa

Started by mlee, April 29, 2010, 01:00:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mlee

Hi, I work in Gabon, central Africa and just exploring if SLAMM is possible or appropriate to use. If anyone can point me to examples of SLAMM from equatorial places without much data, or opinions on its applicability, I would very much appreciate it. Thank you, Michelle

Jonathan S. Clough

I have no experience using the model in Africa.  My non-contiguous United States experience consists of a few applications in the Caribbean and Alaska.  There's someone working towards an Australia application.

http://warrenpinnacle.com/SLAMMFORUM/index.php?topic=70.0

When you have no decent elevation data you are really relying on a very good conceptual model.  If you are applying the model in a new geographical domain your conceptual model becomes more uncertain.

High vertical-resolution elevation data is probably the most important SLAMM data requirement.  Elevation data demarcates where salt water is predicted to penetrate and, when combined with tidal data, the frequency of inundation for wetlands and marshes.  Elevation data also helps determine the lower elevation range for beaches, wetlands, and tidal flats­the elevation at which point they are inundated too frequently and are predicted to convert to a different type of land-cover or open water.