News:

Due to SPAM attacks, new members must be approved before posting.  Please email jclough@warrenpinnacle.com when registering and your account will be approved.

Main Menu

why the results with and without the dikes is no differet

Started by zhiliehui1, November 14, 2019, 01:40:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

zhiliehui1

I am a student from China. I had several problems using slamm:
1\ I want to simulate the influence of the presence and absence of dikes on the coastal wetlands in the current and future situations. The data type of the dikes I used is the type of position and height. In the execution window, I made the Settings including and excluding dikes respectively, as shown in the screenshot below.However, the result is consistent with the fact that there is no dike, but obviously this is not consistent with the actual situation, please help me how to solve this problem.

2\In the process of model simulation, I noticed there are run model for NWI photo date (0) in execution window , refer to the technical manuals, but I still don't quite understand, why no matter whether the check this option, the result is 0 year which is not  consistent with the   starting year wetland distribution  in simulation , please help me to solve, whether in the simulation of actual need to check this option.

thanks a lot for your help sincerely

Jonathan S. Clough

With regards to Question 1:

Thank you for your question, I'm not sure this is adequately addressed in the technical documentation.

The way that the "include dikes" and "dike location raster" works is that the model uses the connectivity algorithm to see if there is a connection between the land behind the dike and a "salt water source."  Specifically, the categories "riverine tidal," "estuarine water," "tidal creek," and "open ocean." must not appear behind the dike.  Otherwise the dike location raster will not work and the results will be no different.