News:

Due to SPAM attacks, new members must be approved before posting.  Please email jclough@warrenpinnacle.com when registering and your account will be approved.

Main Menu

wetland elevation categories

Started by katerinapyl, February 02, 2012, 06:53:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

katerinapyl

Hi,

I am a PhD student at UCL, London and I will use the SLAMM model to model the impacts of climate change on coastal and estuarine habitats. My case study is in UK, so I have to change the elevations of wetlands. I saw that I can edit them at the elevation input and analysis table before run the model. But I was wondering if I can change the code to do that. So, I search the code and saw that the wetland elevation ranges (min and max) are only defined as numbers in the initx.inc file and could not find any other equation or parameters defining them. Is that correct? The numbers that are used there as min and max elevation correspond in a particular area or they are standards for USA?

Also, I found the following equations in the code:
MHHW=GTideRange/2  and MLLW=MTL-GTideRange/2. These equations are SLAMM's assumptions or they correspond to the real data, because in my case study does not correspond.

Thank you very much,

Jonathan S. Clough

With regards to the first question,

I'm not sure why you would want to edit the conceptual elevation model without going through the interface that was designed for such changes.  The elevation model chosen is loaded and stored each time you load and save a SLAMM6 file, so really the only thing you can edit is the default elevation model that is brought up if you produce a new study.  You can examine the relationship between your site specific elevation data and the chosen conceptual model with the model's GUI.